Participants and first round matches announced for the 2016 New Japan Super J Cup tournament that begins on July 20

On Wednesday, New Japan announced the full list of participants and first-round matches for the upcoming revival of the famed Super J Cup tournament that was critically acclaimed in the mid-1990s. The tournament begins with the first round matches that will air on New Japan World on July 20 from Koruaken Hall in Tokyo, Japan and will feature talent from New Japan, Pro Wrestling NOAH, Ring of Honor, CMLL, Dragon Gate, All Japan, Kaientai Dojo, Ryukyu Dragon, Suzuki-Gun, CHAOS and a wildcard entrant.

The following is the first-round matches that will take place:

* KUSHIDA (NJPW) vs. Taiji Ishimori (NOAH)

* Ryusuke Taguchi (NJPW) vs. Daisuke Harada (NOAH)

* BUSHI (Wildcard/Los Ingobernables de Japon) vs. Yoshinobu Kanemaru (Suzuki-Gun)

* Titan (CMLL) vs. Will Ospreay (CHAOS)

* Jushin Liger (NJPW) vs. EITA (Dragon Gate)

* Yuma Aoyagi (AJPW) vs. Taichi (Suzuki-Gun)

* Gurukun Mask (Ryukyu Dragon) vs. Kenoh (NOAH)

* Matt Sydal (ROH) vs. Kaiji Tomato (K-Dojo)