Kyle Klingman passed this along.

Road Warrior Animal and Dan Severn to receive special awards from Hall of Fame

WATERLOO, Iowa—Joe Laurinaitis and Dan Severn have been selected to receive special awards during 2012 George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame induction. The Hall of Fame is located inside the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum in Waterloo, Iowa.

Laurinaitis (known by his ring name of Road Warrior Animal) will receive the Frank Gotch Award. The Frank Gotch Award is given to a professional wrestler who brings positive recognition to the sport through work outside the ring. Laurinaitis was one half of the tag team known as the Road Warriors.

Severn will receive the George Tragos Award. The George Tragos Award is given to an exceptionally competitive wrestler who has adapted his wrestling skills and competitive nature to excel in Mixed Martial Arts. Severn, a two-time All-American in wrestling for Arizona State, has over 125 MMA fights.

Kurt Angle and Don Curtis are this year’s Hall of Fame inductees. John Layfield will receive the Lou Thesz Award. Bill Apter will receive the Jim Melby Award.

Hall of Fame weekend is July 13-14, 2012, in Waterloo, Iowa.

Contact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame at (319) 233-0745 or for more information on induction weekend.