Kyle Klingman passed this along.

Matt Lindland to receive George Tragos Award

WATERLOO, Iowa—One of wrestling’s most successful Mixed Martial Artists will receive the George Tragos Award from the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum. Matt Lindland will be recognized during the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame induction weekend.

The 2015 George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame weekend will take place July 10-11.

The award is given to an exceptionally competitive wrestler who adapted his wrestling skills and competitive nature to excel in Mixed Martial Arts. Lindland receives the award based on his wrestling background, his successful tenure as a Mixed Martial Artist and his leadership at USA Wrestling as the Greco-Roman national team coach.

“The great thing about Matt getting honored is that he isn’t finished contributing,” said museum namesake Dan Gable. “Hopefully his best is yet to come with coaching Greco-Roman wrestlers to medals at the World and Olympic level. Matt Lindland is a contributor for life.”

Lindland was a silver medalist at the 2000 Olympics (167.5 pounds) and a silver medalist at the 2001 World Championships (187 pounds). He also won a Big Eight championship (158 pounds) for Nebraska in 1993. His over all Mixed Martial Arts record was 22-9.

George Tragos, namesake of the award and the hall of fame, was one of the most feared submission wrestlers during the 1920s and 1930s. He wrestled and threw discus for the Greek Olympic team in 1920 and 1924. Tragos was also an AAU freestyle champion in 1919 at 158 pounds for the Gary, Indiana, YMCA. He worked with Don Faurot to revitalize the University of Missouri wrestling program in 1944 as well.

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum will continue to release honorees into the 2015 George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2015 includes three Distinguished Members (two living, one posthumous) along with recipients of the Lou Thesz Award, Jim Melby Award, Frank Gotch Award, and the George Tragos Award.

All-access passes to the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Hall of Fame induction weekend are available for $100. They can pre-ordered by contacting the Dan Gable Museum at or by calling (319) 233-0745.

A full schedule of events will be released on a later date.

2015 Hall of Fame induction class
Lou Thesz Award—Brian Blair
Jim Melby Award—TBA
Frank Gotch Award—TBA
George Tragos Award—Matt Lindland
Distinguished Member (living)—Greg Wojciechowski
Distinguished Member (living)—TBA
Distinguished Member (posthumous)—Jim Londos