Kurt Angle released

Another slew of WWE talent have been released by the company in the wake of cuts being made in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic.

WWE Hall of Famer Kurt Angle, veteran referee Mike Chioda, Heath Slater, Eric Young, Sarah Logan, and Aiden English have been released by the company.

Kurt Angle is one of the most decorated superstars in WWE history. Debuting with the company in 1999, he quickly ascended the ranks in his rookie year to win the European Championship, the Intercontinental Championship, the King of the Ring Tournament, and the WWE Championship by the end of 2000. Angle would go on to be a 4-time WWE Champion, a World Heavyweight Champion, WCW Champion, WCW United States Champion, WWE Tag Team Champion, and a Hardcore Champion. Angle was inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame in 2017 and retired at WrestleMania 35.

Mike Chioda debuted with the company in 1989 as a referee. A close family friend of the late Gorilla Monsoon and his son Joey Marella, Chioda refereed some of the biggest matches in WWE history, including numerous WrestleMania main events.

Heath Slater signed with WWE in 2006 and was called up to the main roster in 2010 as a member of the Nexus. Slater was a 4-time Tag Team Champion in the company.

Eric Young debuted in 2016 on NXT as a member of SAnitY. Young and the rest of the group with the exception of Nikki Cross were called up to the main roster in 2018, but the group failed to gain any traction. They were disbanded and Young was seen in the deluge of wrestlers chasing after the WWE 24/7 Championship.

Sarah Logan was a member of The Riott Squad and recently appeared in the main event of Elimination Chamber. Logan was last seen on this past Monday’s Raw where Shayna Baszler seemingly broke her arm in a Money in the Bank Qualifying Match.

Aiden English was a member of the Vaudevillains with Simon Gotch. They won the NXT Tag Team Championship in 2015. English was Rusev’s manager in 2018 before transitioning to a role as the color commentator of 205 Live.

You can view the full release below:

WWE has come to terms on the release of Kurt Angle, Drake Maverick (James Curtin), Curt Hawkins (Brian Myers), Karl Anderson (Chad Allegra), Luke Gallows (Drew Hankinson), Heath Slater (Heath Miller), Eric Young (Jeremy Fritz), Sarah Logan (Sarah Rowe), Mike Chioda, EC3 (Michael Hutter), Aiden English (Matthew Rehwoldt) and Lio Rush (Lionel Green). We wish them all the best in their future endeavors.