NXT TakeOver Title Matches

Following tonight’s WWE NXT, two championship matches have been set for NXT TakeOver on October 4.

Io Shirai will defend her NXT Women’s Championship against Candice LeRae. LeRae was victorious in the #1 Contender’s Women’s Battle Royal, last eliminating Shotzi Blackheart. LeRae and Shirai had a high profile rivalry last year, but this year the roles are reversed with Shirai as the babyface and LeRae as the heel.

Following a victory in the NXT Gauntlet Eliminator, Kyle O’Reilly will face Finn Bálor for the NXT Championship. O’Reilly has never competed for the NXT Championship before. The Gauntlet Eliminator also involved Bronson Reed, Timothy Thatcher, Kushida, and Cameron Grimes. O’Reilly eliminated Reed, Thatcher, and Grimes in the match.

Here is the updated card for NXT TakeOver:

NXT Championship
Finn Bálor vs. Kyle O’Reilly (c)

NXT Women’s Championship
Io Shirai (c) vs. Candice LeRae

NXT North American Championship
Damian Priest (c) vs. Johnny Gargano