According to, 2012 marked the first calendar year (1/1 to 12/31) where the WWE Championship didn’t change hands since 1987 when Hulk Hogan went an entire year as WWF Champion. With 2012 being a leap year, the last we had a leap year without a title change was 1980 when Bob Backlund held the championship.