Mercedes Mone’ to compete in NJPW Strong Women’s Title Tournament

NJPW STRONG has announced they are introducing a Women’s Championship.

New Japan Pro Wrestling has also announced that Mercedes Mone, Stephanie Vaquer, Willow Nightingale, and Momo Kohgo will compete in a one-night tournament to crown the first-ever NJPW STRONG Women’s Champion.

The tournament is set to take place the NJPW Resurgence event at the Walter Pyramid in Long Beach, California on Sunday, May 21.

After holding the Women’s IWGP Championship for 64 days, Mercedes Mone’ lost the Title to Mayu Iwatani at last Sunday’s Stardom All Star Grand Queendom event, at the Yokohama Arena in Yokohama, Japan.