Mae Young Classic to begin airing on WWE Network on September 5, Commentary team set

Mae Young Classic

WWE issued the following on Wednesday, announcing that the second annual Mae Young Classic tournament will begin airing on WWE Network on September 5 following NXT.

Commentary will include Michael Cole, Renee Young and Beth Phoenix.

You can check out the full press release below.

Mae Young Classic 2018 premieres Wednesday, Sept. 5, on WWE Network

This year’s Mae Young Classic, featuring 32 of the world’s most elite female competitors, will premiere on WWE Network on Wednesday, Sept. 5, at 9/8 C, immediately following WWE NXT.

The single-elimination tournament will continue each Wednesday night until only two competitors remain. The finalists will then battle for the Mae Young Classic trophy at WWE Evolution, the first-ever all-women’s pay-per-view, on Sunday, Oct. 28, live on WWE Network.

Calling the action of this year’s Mae Young Classic will be Michael Cole, WWE Hall of Famer Beth Phoenix and Renee Young, marking the first time in WWE history that two women are in the announce booth. Phoenix, a three-time WWE Women’s Champion and former Divas Champion, most recently lent her insight at the announce desk as part of this year’s Mixed Match Challenge.

Joining them as part of the Mae Young Classic broadcast team will be Cathy Kelley and Shadia Bseiso, who will conduct backstage interviews with competitors throughout the tournament. Hailing from Jordan, Bseiso is the first woman from the Middle East to be recruited into WWE’s developmental system, training at the WWE Performance Center. Kayla Braxton will serve as the tournament’s ring announcer.

The WWE Universe won’t have to wait until Sept. 5, however, to get an in-depth look at the Mae Young Classic field of competitors. Before the tournament action kicks off, WWE Network will present Mae Young Classic 2018 Bracketology on Wednesday, Aug. 29, at 9/8 C, hosted by Phoenix and the voice of NXT, Mauro Ranallo.

So far, 31 of the 32 tournament competitors have been announced. The final slot will be up for grabs on tonight’s edition of WWE NXT, when two athletes from the inaugural tournament, Vanessa Borne and Taynara Conti, face off in a Qualifying Match.

Check out the list of confirmed competitors below, and don’t miss a second of the action when WWE’s groundbreaking women’s tournament returns to WWE Network on Sept. 5.

Kaitlyn (U.S.)
Io Shirai (Japan)
Tegan Nox (Wales)
Kacy Catanzaro (U.S.)
Toni Storm (Australia)
Jinny (England)
Ashley Rayne (U.S.)
Kavita Devi (India)
Meiko Satomura (Japan)
Rhea Ripley (Australia)
Deonna Purrazzo (U.S.)
Reina González (U.S.)
Lacey Lane (U.S.)
Jessica Elaban (U.S.)
Nicole Matthews (Canada)
MJ Jenkins (U.S.)
Karen Q (U.S.)
Zatara (Chile)
Mia Yim (U.S.)
Mercedes Martinez (U.S.)
Allysin Kay (U.S.)
Hiroyo Matsumoto (Japan)
Xia Li (China)
Zeuxis (Mexico)
Isla Dawn (Scotland)
Aerial Monroe (U.S.)
Rachel Evers (U.S.)
Priscilla Kelly (U.S.)
Killer Kelly (Portugal)
Vanessa Kraven (Canada)
Xia Brookside (England)

Tapings for the tournament take place beginning tonight and concluding on Thursday at Full Sail University, with the Mae Young Classic Parade streaming live tonight via Facebook.