Brutus “The Barber” Beefcake announced as final inductee into this year’s Hall of Fame

Brutus "The Barber" Beefcake

WWE has confirmed Brutus “The Barber” Beefcake as the latest inductee into the Class of 2019 WWE Hall of Fame this weekend during WrestleMania weekend.

Beefcake is the final announced inductee for the Hall of Fame this year.

Excerpt from WWE’s write up about Beefcake:

Beefcake first arrived in WWE in late 1984. He was a Superstar who was just as concerned with his looks as he was picking up wins in the ring. Vanity aside, Beefcake was no slouch as a competitor, racking up victories and even appearing in the very first WrestleMania. He found his first major success as a tag team wrestler. He and fellow WWE Hall of Famer Greg “The Hammer” Valentine, known as The Dream Team, dethroned The British Bulldogs in August 1985 to capture the World Tag Team Titles.

At WrestleMania III in 1987, however, The Dream Team split up, with Valentine and manager Johnny Valiant ditching Beefcake. Just a few minutes later, Brutus re-emerged to help “Rowdy” Roddy Piper even the odds in a Hair vs. Hair Match against Adrian Adonis, who had “The Mouth of The South” Jimmy Hart in his corner. After Piper claimed victory, it was Beefcake who ended up shearing Adonis’ platinum locks off. It was a moment that changed Beefcake’s career forever.

After a little training in the fine art of cutting hair, he rechristened himself Brutus “The Barber” Beefcake. With a wild-eyed glare and a massive pair of hedge clippers in hand, “The Barber” became an immediate fan favorite with the WWE Universe, as well as a feared opponent in the ring. Both were due in part to his trademark Sleeper Hold and for what happened after he put his opponents to sleep.

This year’s Hall of Fame ceremony will be held on Saturday (April 6) at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York, with NXT TakeOver: New York taking place the day before.

D-Generation X (Triple H, Shawn Michaels, Billy Gunn, “Road Dogg” Jesse James, X-Pac and Chyna), The Honky Tonk Man, Torrie Wilson, Harlem Heat, Sue Aitchison and The Hart Foundation were all announced as inductees prior.

Related Posts