King of the Ring

WWE announced on last night’s episode of RAW that the King of the Ring Tournament is coming back starting on next Monday’s RAW on August 19 from St. Paul, Minnesota.

The King of the Ring Tournament will feature 16 wrestlers (8 from RAW, 8 from Smackdown Live) competing in a single elimination bracket tournament until one Superstar is left. That person is then crowned the King of the Ring.

WWE last held the tournament in 2015, which was won by Wade Barrett. The King of the Ring tournament was a featured PPV for WWE from 1993 to 2002. The tournament itself was started in 1985 and would be a yearly event except in 1990 and 1992. After the PPV ended, the tournament would come back as part of the television shows in 2006, 2008, 2010, and most recently in 2015.

Many WWE Hall of Famers have won the tournament or used it as a catapult to greater success. People that have won it include Harley Race, Randy Savage, Bret Hart, Owen Hart, Stone Cold Steve Austin, Triple H, Kurt Angle, Edge, Booker T, and Brock Lesnar.

Here is the list of Superstars appearing in this year’s King of the Ring tournament:


– The Miz
– Ricochet
– Cedric Alexander
– Samoa Joe
– Drew McIntyre
– Baron Corbin
– Sami Zayn
– Cesaro

Smackdown Live

– Kevin Owens
– Ali
– Apollo Crews
– Chad Gable
– Elias
– Andrade
– Buddy Murphy
– Shelton Benjamin